Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

External Advisory Board

PEER has assembled an outstanding group of individuals who come from across the country to serve as the External Advisory Board. The purpose of the External Advisory Board is to provide input on PEER’s mission and goals and to give feedback on a variety of items regarding PEER’s activities that advance STEM doctoral students toward degree completion.


Bernard L. Batson, Associate Director, Student Services &
Director of Diversity, Inclusion & Training Grants
College of Engineering, University of South Florida

Chellu S. Chetty, Associate VP for Research & Sponsored Programs
Savannah State University

Dean Evasius, Vice President & Director of Science Education Programs,
Oak Ridge Associated Universities

Debbie McCoy (retired), Director RAMS Program
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Kristina (Munoz-Flores) Thiagarajan, Director of Translational Health Sciences & Educational Coordinator, Computing and Computational Sciences Directorate
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Louise Hainline, Professor, Psychology
Brooklyn College of CUNY

Terrance Johnson, Professor & Chair
College of Agriculture, Human and Natural Science
Tennessee State University

Patricia Marsteller, Director, Hughes Science Initiative
Director, Emory College Center for Science Education
Emory University

Carlos Castillo-Chavez, Distinguished Sustainability Scientist
Regents and Joaquin Bustoz Jr. Professor
Arizona State University